realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby algoaddict » 2007-09-16 16:57

im using the repeater for nat 2 nat connections and it works but after the connections is created, if the repeater is closed, or the machine that runs the repeater disconnects from the internet, the vnc connection is lost.

i was told that the repeater is only used to create the connection but the data isnt going through it so why does it happen and how can i fix it ?

im using the repeater that arrives with the latest (i think) vnc available for download. its version is 1.1.0.7

this is the address to my latest question:
how does a repeater work ?

thanx
Last edited by algoaddict on 2007-09-16 16:59, edited 1 time in total.
algoaddict
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-08-13 15:24

Re: realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby redge » 2007-09-16 17:08

realvnc cannot use the repeater
only ultravnc can use the repeater.
nat2nat require another repeater and should work with any vnc flavor.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6821
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby algoaddict » 2007-09-16 17:26

hi,
thanx for your reply.
my mistake, im using uvnc on both sides, just got confused with the names.

"nat2nat require another repeater and should work with any vnc flavor." -
1. any vnc flavour - that means real vnc as well ? so why did you write that realvnc cannot work with the repeater ?
2. "another repeater" - you mean 2 repeaters ? one is not enough ? i worked with one but it seems the whole session is goin through it and not only the creation of the connection.
algoaddict
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-08-13 15:24

Re: realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby redge » 2007-09-16 17:39

the nat2nat use only repeater hosted by uvnc.com not your own.

realvnc cannot use directly the repeater but only trough nat2nat connect to hard coded ip repeater of uvnc.com.
1 is enough.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6821
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby algoaddict » 2007-09-16 17:47

now i understood what the problem with my question was..
im not using uvnc nat2nat software tool (http://uvnc.com/addons/nat2nat.html).

i ment that i use the regular repeater, the one in the uvnc installation package, to create a uvnc connection between 2 computers that are behind nat routers. this repeater - http://uvnc.com/addons/repeater.html
on mode 2.
algoaddict
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-08-13 15:24

Re: realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby algoaddict » 2007-09-17 19:02

can anyone help me with it? i tried several configurations and other repeaters and couldnt find a solution, the session always gets doisconnected upon repeater going down and the data passes through it and not only the connection creation.
algoaddict
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-08-13 15:24

Re: realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby redge » 2007-09-17 20:30

http://www.uvnc.com/pchelpware/repeater/index.html

try to replace the repeater by this updated with some fix
small fix for occasionall problems with removing closed connections in Remove_socket()
VC++ 2005 EE project for Repeater
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6821
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: realvnc repeater and nat to nat connections

Postby algoaddict » 2007-09-17 23:32

thanx for the reply but my problem isnt that the repeater doesnt reset the connection after a disconnection. my problem is that all the vnc session data is passing through the repeater machine and i would like only the connection to be created using the repeater and then both sides will talk directly to each other without the need of a repeater after the connection is made.

i need the repeater to create the connection cause both sides are behind nat thanx again.
algoaddict
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-08-13 15:24


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests