update old sc (online creator) update 27/08

Single Click discussions / bugs

update old sc (online creator) update 27/08

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-02 19:17

Some small updates to make it work better on vista/win7
This is compatible with the helpdesk.txt settings of the older sc.
You can download your old zip, only when encryption was used you
need to regenerate a new key.

*encryption plugin from 106 used.
The rc4.key file need to be generated by this plugin


The zip you upload can contain following files, other are ignored
rc4.key
helpdesk.txt
icon1.ico
icon2.ico
logo.bmp
background.bmp
enter.bmp

The created exe get signed by uvnc for easy web download and execution.
(Because of the signing we don't allow to upload your own dll/exe/dsm)

Current it can only be tesed via
http://support1.uvnc.com/cgi-bin/upload4.pl
user: foo
pass: foobar

UAC: sc is running as user, this does NOT allow UAC access.
-UAC windows are view only. (you now stay connected in view only mode)
-When the UAC window ( not the popup, the one that has the elevated permission) is closed or minized, you get back full access.

Update 27/08/2009
helpdesk.txt added
[DIS_UAC]

*Adding this option, uac is disabled for admin. If the user who started
sc is admin you know can remote control system apps.

*poll settings back as in the old version, seems to give better performance.
Last edited by Rudi De Vos on 2009-08-26 22:28, edited 2 times in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby menash » 2009-08-02 20:29

thanks rudi :)
menash
8
8
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2009-07-17 09:13

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby JDaus » 2009-08-03 20:22

awesome work rudi ..!

will give it a go !!!
ask a silly question and remain a fool for 5 minutes...
don't ask, and remain a fool for life - JDaus 2003

without imperfections, neither you nor i would exist - Steven Hawkins
__
JD
VNC2Me - OpenSource Free Remote Screen\Desktop Sharing Solutions
SecureTech
JDaus
Friend of UVNC
Friend of UVNC
 
Posts: 516
Joined: 2007-03-17 11:00
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby YY » 2009-08-04 09:18

Hi! Rudi,

I had tested the updated creator, and inside the returned .EXE file, I found it consisting both the SCHook.dll & VNCHook.dll.

On another thread (Way to improve performance on 1.0.6.4), I notice you have mentioned that when both the two Hook.dll exist, the normal UVNC will use the SCHook.dll.

Does this apply to SC too?
If then why still pack the two Hook DLL into the .EXE ?
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-04 09:40

The sc version use BOTH hooks, 1064 doesn't.
(The cursor shape depend on vnchooks, because changes needed to be minimal the vnchooks is still needed for proper mouse updates)
(schook is optional, but hints are better... my opinion)

-Both hooks give change hints.
-Hints of schook and vnchooks are rectangles who are combined in a region.
-A region combine rects and remove double, if schook and vnchooks tell the same, the region filter all overlapping rects.
-The region is used to capture screen, check if it realy changed, compressed and send to viewer.

The overhead of using both hooks is small.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-04 09:43

Still waiting for Vista/WIN7 feedback :(
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby YY » 2009-08-04 09:45

Rudi De Vos wrote:The sc version use BOTH hooks, 1064 doesn't.
.....................
Thanks Rudi.

If not asking an expert like you, I can never get such indepth technical information. :)
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-05 18:14

Any feedback ?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby stary » 2009-08-05 22:37

Hello Rudi!

Thank's for your great work with SC.
I've tested the new version today with Win XP in my first step, I'll intend to test with Vista in next days.

I recerate the new SC with my old helpdesk.txt settings so I could compare the old and the new version's behaviour. I tested it on my local LAN from two XP computers as it was a first step to find if everything works.

BTW, the new EXE file is just about 238k (the old version was only 179k) and this is great. Although it's not a big deal with nowadays speed of the internet, I saw some competitive products, growing to megabytes.

So - testing the new version - I could say it's quite same on XP as the old version was and I'm glad it works, because there are still many machines with Windows XP, but we could expect new users of Windows 7 in next months.

As I said - it works. The only surprise for me was - it doesn't work smoothly as the old version did. If I leave all settings by default and there are no other video drivers installed on the server and viewer computers, the old version runs smoothly, but the new one runs with some delay which I noticed during the keyboard input.

So I looked into the properties on the server side and I noticed that the new version has different default settings than the old one. The Property "Poll Foreground Window" was unchecked and if I enable it with manually checking on, the new version become just as smooth and fast as the old version was and the keyboard delay went away.

The enabled Properties of the old version SC server was: "Poll Full Screen", "Poll ForeGround Window", "Poll on Event Received Only" and "System Hook Dll".

The new SC server comes with default Properties: "Poll Full Screen", "System Hook Dll" and "Low Accuracy".

I suppose this has something to do with the new settings for Vista / Win7,
and it's not a big deal turn it on during the session, but the settings cannot be saved and change always to default when the Property window is closed.

So - that was the only problem that I found, working in an old environment (XP) with the new version. I'll try in next days the same comparison with Vista, and I'll write some feedback about it.
Last edited by stary on 2009-08-05 22:42, edited 1 time in total.
stary
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-08-05 21:38

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-05 23:38

If settings need to differ ( default) based on OS i can add some
OS switch, but first i need to know the optimal settings for each OS.

Thanks for the feedback.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Sainsuper » 2009-08-06 10:24

hi,
hi have done some little test with win7 and winvista from 2 virtual machine, but not in local but from internet ( with areo disable :( )

i have compared the old and next version.

I have seen a little best performance with the next version in windows vista, but in windows 7 i haven't seen more difference in performance, but is good that not disconnect when uac promt is enable!

my little suggest: it should be userful add reconnect funtion like old version modificated from advantig. (pgmoney)

i'll do other tests

regard
sainsuper
Sainsuper
40
40
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 2008-04-02 10:47

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Teddy » 2009-08-06 13:02

Rudi De Vos wrote:Still waiting for Vista/WIN7 feedback :(


Win7 work. SC stop's Aero and restore it after closing the connection.
Teddy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-04-26 07:49

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-06 13:38

Sorry, reconect option can't be added.

I use sc myself and one of the requirements is that a connection can
only be initiated by the "to support" user.

vmware test:
Vista and WIN7 behave like XP video, under vmware both use a xpdm
driver and not the wddm. It's the latest that cause the performance issue's.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby aromo » 2009-08-08 00:12

Hi Rudi,

I tested it with Win7 Ultimate RC giving access to a Vista Ultimate SP2 machine running UltraVNC Viewer 1.0.2 and 1.0.6.4

Everything seem to work fine.
aromo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-08-07 21:52

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby stary » 2009-08-08 15:59

Rudi De Vos wrote:If settings need to differ ( default) based on OS i can add some
OS switch, but first i need to know the optimal settings for each OS.



Actually I don't think settings should be different for specific OS. The old SC had "Poll Foreground Window" enabled, which the new version doesn't have. I don't see the reason why should this property change.


Today I tested the new SC with Vista Home Basic running the server and Windows XP on the viewer side. It works as it was in XP/XP environment (the story abot enabling the "Poll Foreground Window" property was quite same - checking it on improves the anoying delay).

However - when I started the command prompt (running cmd.exe) to get the old DOS prompt - the keyboard and mouse communication between viewer and server doesn't work anymore. The viewer actually shows the picture of the server machine. The user at the server side could work normally with the keyboard and mouse and the picture came normally to the viewer but all the time when the CMD window has focus, the viewer is in a kind of "watch only" mode. After the CMD window was closed or pushed to the background, the viewer can use keyboard and mouse again.

This doesn't happened on the XP/XP connection, only XP to Vista. And it seems it is not the problem of the SC itself, because I tried also with the WinVNC 1.0.6.4 on the Vista (server) side and it was the same problem. It seems to me the CMD prompt have very similar behaviour as the UAC popup window (except the picture of the CMD window is viewable at the viewer's side).
Strange, because I'm pretty sure someone would notice this till now. Unfortunately, I don't have more Vista machines to compare
this behaviour.
stary
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-08-05 21:38

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby freakwent » 2009-08-09 08:47

Hi guys,

The current production SC creator gives me a version which appears to have an incompatibility with RFB protocol version with some current vncviewers. In fact, I can't find a viewer that SC works with.

I can see from this thread where to find the new testing version, but what winvnc.exe do we use?

I've been experimenting with various vnc.exes from different vendors and versions in the old single click, but none of them work very well.

I'm not fussy about features, so I don't mind if I end up with one that's too old, or one that's too new and buggy, so does anyone have a known combination of winvnc.exe and a particular vncviewer that will work with either the old or new single click systems?
freakwent
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-08-09 08:32

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby stary » 2009-08-09 09:01

freakwent wrote:I can see from this thread where to find the new testing version, but what winvnc.exe do we use?


Winvnc.exe?

You don't need winvnc.exe for using with single-click. You need only vncviewer.exe because the singleclick already has a kind of a small winvnc.exe inside itself.

And the version of vncviewer is not very imortant. You can use the latest 1.0.6.4 or even some old 1.0.xx versions and they all work with singleclick.
stary
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-08-05 21:38

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby freakwent » 2009-08-09 09:44

Hmm. This is not my experience; across a number of different viewing & serving systems I have had trouble with SC, where other vncs work ok.

When it fails, it behaves as though it works, but does not create a GUI window.

I believe this to be a protocol mismatch of some kind because of this behaviour:

(single-click):
[bash]$ /mnt/nix/usr/bin/vncviewer -listen
/mnt/nix/usr/bin/vncviewer -listen: Listening on port 5500
/mnt/nix/usr/bin/vncviewer -listen: Command line errors are not reported until a
connection comes in.
Connected to RFB server, using protocol version 3.8
^C

(uvnc server 1.0.6.4)
[bash]$ /mnt/nix/usr/bin/vncviewer -listen
/mnt/nix/usr/bin/vncviewer -listen: Listening on port 5500
/mnt/nix/usr/bin/vncviewer -listen: Command line errors are not reported until a
connection comes in.
Connected to RFB server, using protocol version 3.3
No authentication needed
Desktop name "dad-a6nrtjug8cd ( 192.168.0.234 )"
VNC server default format:
32 bits per pixel.
Least significant byte first in each pixel.
True colour: max red 255 green 255 blue 255, shift red 16 green 8 blue 0
Using default colormap which is TrueColor. Pixel format:
32 bits per pixel.
Least significant byte first in each pixel.
True colour: max red 255 green 255 blue 255, shift red 16 green 8 blue 0
Using shared memory PutImage
ShmCleanup called
^C

See? It's all good with a different server. The viewer I have in this example is:

[bash]$ /mnt/nix/usr/bin/vncviewer --help
TightVNC Viewer version 1.3.9
[..snip..]


I'm happy to accept that it's the wrong viewer, but in windows with the 1.0.6.4 viewer I get the same behaviour: Valid TCP connection, the server removes the wallpaper, then it all drops out. The only common thing across different OS's and software versions is the vnc server version packaged in the SC executable, AFAICT.

Here's a final example, using:

VNC Viewer Free Edition 4.1.3 for X - built Aug 9 2009 19:34:55
Copyright (C) 2002-2008 RealVNC Ltd.

vncviewer -listen

VNC Viewer Free Edition 4.1.3 for X - built Aug 9 2009 19:34:55
Copyright (C) 2002-2008 RealVNC Ltd.
See http://www.realvnc.com for information on VNC.



single click:

Sun Aug 9 19:37:00 2009
main: Listening on port 5500
Sun Aug 9 19:37:07 2009
CConn: Accepted connection from 192.168.0.234::1080
CConnection: Server supports RFB protocol version 3.16
CConnection: Using RFB protocol version 3.8
Sun Aug 9 19:37:16 2009
main: End of stream

No GUI appeared; the connection was closed from the server's end, which behaved as though the viewer was working fine.


Using uvnc server 1.0.6.4:

Sun Aug 9 19:37:44 2009
CConn: Accepted connection from 192.168.0.234::1082
CConnection: Server supports RFB protocol version 3.6
CConnection: Using RFB protocol version 3.3

.... and it works fine.

You can see from the outputs here why I thought it was a protocol mismatch.

Has anyone encountered this before? Is 3.16 a valid RFB version? wikipedia doesn't think so, but then again what would they know?!
:P
freakwent
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-08-09 08:32

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-09 09:58

SC or ultravnc 1064 with option -sc_XXX require the ultravnc viewer and is not compatible with all existing viewers.

To indicate that the viewer need to accept the server and show some server info before the connection is made we use a non official pseudo protocol 3.16. Only the ultravnc viewer understand this and has the needed code to show this accept box.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby freakwent » 2009-08-09 10:40

wow, thank you SO much for your help! And such a fast response!

This explains everything! Well, almost. I'm using windows VMs for testing, and it works fine for the current 1.0.6.4 version, but sc crashes (differently now though).

I'll check the helpdesk.txt settings and start again. I'm sure it will be fine this time.

Thanks again!
freakwent
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-08-09 08:32

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby siva_vandanapu » 2009-08-10 12:57

Hi Rudi,
Where can I get the latest source code for 1.0.6.4 single click. I have downloaded SCII and tried working, which did not solve my problem.(2 instaces closing at a time on closing any one of the instance)
siva_vandanapu
8
8
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2008-12-11 11:14

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby marcgistel » 2009-08-10 16:02

Amazing work rudi! thanks for that very much!

while I was testing the new exe I recognized two things:

1. If I upload my test1.zip and download the test1.exe it works. If I change a File in this test1.zip-file(helpdeskt.txt on my side) and want to upload it again(same name) and download the test1.exe(AND overwrite the old) it is the same exe. no changes happened(and very fast compiled, imediately). If I rename the zip to "test2.zip" it works and take some seconds to compile.
My fault?

2. Is the ssl-proxy-option not more implemented? the old sc online could connect via SSL and Port 443 to my repeater. with the Parameter "-sslproxy" but not it throws an errormessage like you can see on the screenshot. any ideas?

Image

best regards,
marc
Last edited by marcgistel on 2009-08-10 16:04, edited 3 times in total.
marcgistel
40
40
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2008-03-26 09:07
Location: Ulm, Germany

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby freakwent » 2009-08-12 09:14

Ok a final feedback report (it's the wrong thread, but this is where I started, so I'll stay.)

SC fails under the VMs but works well with Uvnc installed under wine.

The installer appears bugless, but at connection the fancy little auto-hide bar draws itself in the wrong place, and slowly scrolls all the way up off the screen, never to be seen again...

Anyway I'm very happy so thank you very very much.

:)
freakwent
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-08-09 08:32

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Alberto » 2009-08-13 12:48

Hello Rudi!

Thank you for your great work with SC.

I've tested accurately the new version of SC with Windows Vista Ultimate
giving access to a Windows 2000 machine running UltraVNC Viewer 1.0.6.4 in listen mode.

I found that SC stops Aero and restore it after closing the connection.
I verified that when the UAC window is closed or minimized, I get back full access to remote computer.
Everything seem to work fine.

But I think that the SC should allow access to the UAC window,
this very important for me and generally for remote assistance.

I was actually thinking if it's possible to run SC as administrator
or, if it's not possible, if you can disable the UAC
by modifing the value of 'ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin' (from dword:00000002 to 00000000)
under the Key: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System.
Naturally this value should be restored to the original value when SC stops to work.

Please let me know if you can do so.

Thanks. Alberto
Alberto
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005-03-18 19:35

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-14 22:28

This was an update to SC II, SC III is the only one that has the ssl stuff.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-14 22:41

Search a little, temp change look save.
ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin=0

It should not be to hard to ad some extra option.
WIll do it when i make new SC changes.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5486
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby JDaus » 2009-08-16 04:44

Rudi,

I finally found time to look at the updated SC, and found that i get an error when starting using the following :
Code: Select all
uvnc.exe -sc_prompt -autoreconnect -connect 127.0.0.1::5500 -run -noregistry
i get the following error ... Image

as you can see ... there are no usage information in the error (which there normally is with the server).

would it be better for future (server) features (and for addon developers like myself) if any command line arguments that are not know are just ignored ??? i find this annoying on the server (but can understand why its there ... sort of), but the old SC had no such usage popup, and that feature meant you could interchange the SC with the server in many addon app (like scprompt) without a problem.

would it be possible for the updated SC to ignore any command line arguments that it doesn't understand (rather than erroring out into a message box ???

other than this ... nice work ... seams to work well ... thanks for updating to vista compatibility :D
ask a silly question and remain a fool for 5 minutes...
don't ask, and remain a fool for life - JDaus 2003

without imperfections, neither you nor i would exist - Steven Hawkins
__
JD
VNC2Me - OpenSource Free Remote Screen\Desktop Sharing Solutions
SecureTech
JDaus
Friend of UVNC
Friend of UVNC
 
Posts: 516
Joined: 2007-03-17 11:00
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby ceje » 2009-08-19 23:52

Rudi, I just wanted to say thanks for all your work on this.. It worked great, right out of the gate.

I had to connect my PC (XP Pro) to a client with Vista Home Premium to fix some problems. I changed the icons to show my company name with Icofx (freeware), changed all the references in the "helpdesk.txt" and created the SC exe from the link you provided in your OP. The performance was pretty good for working half way across the country.

Could not have been simpler.

Thanks again (':D')
Last edited by ceje on 2009-08-19 23:53, edited 1 time in total.
ceje
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-09-16 14:03

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby Terabyte » 2009-08-22 15:23

marcgistel wrote:Amazing work rudi! thanks for that very much!

while I was testing the new exe I recognized two things:

1. If I upload my test1.zip and download the test1.exe it works. If I change a File in this test1.zip-file(helpdeskt.txt on my side) and want to upload it again(same name) and download the test1.exe(AND overwrite the old) it is the same exe. no changes happened(and very fast compiled, imediately). If I rename the zip to "test2.zip" it works and take some seconds to compile.
My fault?


Well, not exactly your fault, it's your browser's fault. If you clear the browser cache between downloads you'll find it downloads the same named .exe but the new version the next time. Was very frustating to me at first too. Perhaps Rudi would consider adding the <META HTTP-EQUIV="CACHE-CONTROL" CONTENT="NO-CACHE"> tag to the site?
Terabyte
8
8
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2005-05-23 23:44

Re: update old sc (online creator)

Postby ssx4life » 2009-08-24 01:14

Works great! =) I gotta say I'm really happy with the updates you implemented.

3 small requests

1. an offline generator of the program
2. A [small gui] option which will have 2 options (similar to UltraVNC SC Generator )
3. 64 bit support?

=)

Keep up the good work
Last edited by ssx4life on 2009-08-24 01:15, edited 1 time in total.
ssx4life
8
8
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2009-08-21 13:28

Next

Return to SC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests