CAD solution with UAC off

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby B » 2010-07-12 17:15

Already kindly mirrored by supercoe. See Re: I've made a tiny mod to the repeater...
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby Janus67 » 2010-07-12 17:49

fantastic thank you so much.
Janus67
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-07-12 16:51
Location: OSU

download links are dead

Postby svyatko » 2010-07-28 07:35

Hey guys.

Any chance someone could mirror the download links from the first page somewhere. They appear to be dead.

Kindly thanks
svyatko
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-07-27 08:11

Re: download links are dead

Postby B » 2010-07-28 13:29

svyatko wrote:Hey guys.

Any chance someone could mirror the download links from the first page somewhere. They appear to be dead.

Kindly thanks


Seriously? Look up two posts. The thread I linked contains a post by supercoe ("ChunkVNC" icon) with working mirrors.


Last edited by B on 2010-07-28 13:30, edited 1 time in total.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby chadvonnau » 2010-08-12 02:33

THANK YOU COLTB45!!!!

I've confirmed what B said above that the Group Policy change can be done by just editing the registry.

I've packaged up Colt's patched 1.0.8.2 x64 binary, a .reg file to make the appropriate registry change, and a .bat file which automates the whole process into one double-click. Download it here:

http://files.eyeburn.info/software/uvnc ... ad_fix.zip

I've only tested this on Vista x64 SP2, but it should also work for Win7.

Oh, and UVNC maintainers, you should merge Colt's patch into the next UVNC release. It works great. I guess the installer would also have to edit the registry to make the Group Policy change.
Last edited by chadvonnau on 2010-08-12 02:37, edited 1 time in total.
chadvonnau
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-08-11 00:28

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby chadvonnau » 2010-08-12 14:00

Applying the group policy/registry change will break CAD on systems that have UAC enabled. If you delete the registry key, CAD will work again.

I found this out accidentally after I rolled this fix out facility-wide w/o checking UAC status of each machine.
chadvonnau
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-08-11 00:28

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby B » 2010-08-12 14:09

Really? That stinks. I guess the installer could detect whether UAC were enabled or not and deploy the key accordingly. (Apparently all you need to do is check the value of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System[EnableLUA] (

By the way, I've posted this in other threads but not this one -- the command to change the policy to enable SAS without UAC, for those who are doing this themselves is

Code: Select all
C:\> reg add HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v SoftwareSASGeneration /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby Clutch » 2010-10-21 12:27

This is not working fully. I agree with LouiseBest, this may work if you have a single password for UVNC, but if you're like us and using the MS Login, it does not work. You do get prompted for your username and password, but after entering them, the client and server never finish the connection. The screen isn't displayed. It looks as if there is an issue with the authentication process because after enering in your MS Domain credentials, the "VNC Viewer Status..." window is still open and says "Password Requested" even though it was just entered.
And it's not an issue with my setup because if I install UVNC fresh it works fine. Once I replace the winvnc.exe file and reboot, it quits working. Swapping the files back and restarting restores service.

Just thought I'd let ColtB45 know...if he's still monitoring this thread.
Clutch
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-10-21 12:20

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby racassel » 2010-10-29 21:41

All sounds good, but how to get it to work with SC?
racassel
8
8
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2007-09-10 23:31

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2010-10-30 14:04

*cad can be send as service
-with or without auc on
*cad can be send as application, only when uac is active and uiAccess=true in the manifest.

The permission contradict to make it proper work for SC.
** If SC run as application and uac is on, cad can be made working but
during the uac popup you switch in secure desktop mode. SC running as application can't switch to secure desktop mode, this priveledge is only for sevices.
Short: If you get cad working, the cad popup can't be shown remote.

** To make it work, SC need to be running as service. But to install a service the user need admin access.

For no admin users, you only can run SC as application -> no cad
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 4319
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby newclique » 2010-12-13 04:38

Has anyone tried just disabling the UAC: Only elevate executables that are signed and validated" setting? I think that one did it for me w/o all of this other stuff. If not, play around with some of the other UAC settings. I am pretty sure one of them fixed it for me.
newclique
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-12-13 04:36

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby matteo@kuriasoft.eu » 2010-12-16 15:23

Hi. I use ultravnc 1.0.8.2 in a AD domain with WIndows 7.

I have a problem with send Ctrl-alt-del . it doesn't work. but

-uac is enable by policy
-"Disable or enable software Secure Attention Sequence".
is "Enable" adn "Services and Ease of Access applications" by policy.

I found this post but the link doesn't work.

1) someone have the file included in the post?
2) someone have some idea about a way to enable Uvnc to send ctrl-alt-del in a domain withou replace the exe?


thank you!
matteo@kuriasoft.eu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-12-16 15:10

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby Tobias » 2011-08-31 08:41

matteo@kuriasoft.eu, hi,
this problem has already been discussed in here answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080207114803AAevRW9. Look through it.
Tobias
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-08-31 08:36

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-08-31 08:49

This issue was solved in 1091, the cad.exe is replaced by the buildin MS function sendsas().
The previous answer is for the latest version... in 108 this will not help.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 4319
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby B » 2011-08-31 14:07

Um, "Tobias"'s link has nothing to do with VNC or the SAS sequence; I think he's just a spammer (all due apologies if that's not true). The last post before him was matteo's back in December 2010.

But this thread is still valuable to keep around...
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby ronaldS » 2011-09-26 11:15

Hi,

We are using version 1.0.9.6.1 and are still having issues with not being able to send CAD when connecting to a Windows 7 machine.
We are using an AD domain. I have been testing on a PC which I have full access to. UAC is turned off, I have tried setting the local policies as found in this thread, in regard to pressing CAD. No luck. Sure I am missing something, any assistance would be appreciated.

Regards
ronaldS
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-09-26 11:03

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby ronaldS » 2011-09-26 12:36

Ok,

Got it working eventually. Removed and reinstalled UVNC on both PC's, re-enabled and re-disabled UAC on UVNC server, cleared and reset policy settings on UVNC server. And it now works...... seems that maybe I did something wrong or something was just not right the first time round.
ronaldS
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-09-26 11:03

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby gthegreat1 » 2013-11-29 17:57

I was having this issue for a while now. I sat down and decided to find the solution. I bumped in to some registry keys and a site with some info.
This issue was with Windows 7 x64 and UAC disabled. I found two places where the registry has to be set.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System "SoftwareSASGeneration" = dword : 00000001
and
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System "SoftwareSASGeneration" = dword : 00000001

I believe both have to be set.

Then i found this link.
http://kb.realvnc.com/questions/102/How ... +policy%3F
This link seems to set the keys right.
gthegreat1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013-11-26 16:50

Re: CAD solution with UAC off

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-11-29 18:43

Same solution as http://forum.ultravnc.net/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=27435

Indeed, it's better we add it in the installer i already forogot it myself
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 4319
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Previous

Return to 1.0.8.X (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests