Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Simple, Free, Open Source UltraVNC Wrapper Supporting Windows and Mac OSX.

Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby letsfly » 2010-04-30 22:38

I have tried and no luck, ports 5901 and 5500 are open to the outside world via the WAN IP and open from the LAN private IP.

If I set the repeater to the public IP I can not reach it from the LAN or I get errors. Outside sessions fail as well.

If I set the repeater up with a LAN IP I can use it and it works but appears to loop and open window after window and this has no use even though the router ports are forwarded to my LAN IP

I guess my concept of how the repeater works is a little cloudy.

Thanks for replys in advance.

- Charles
letsfly
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-04-30 22:16
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby supercoe » 2010-04-30 22:52

I guess I'm confused as to how exactly you're "setting" the repeater to a different IP?
The repeater will use the IP address of the computer it is run on.

I take it you've followed the installation guide and checked that your ports are forwarded to the repeater correctly?
http://walkernerds.com/chunkvnc/installationguide.html

In your case it seems you don't have an extra computer to run the repeater on and you wish to run it on the same computer as the viewer.
This is fine unless your router doesn't support loopback connections.

I suggest you modify the \Viewer\bin\chunkviewer.ini file after compiling and put in your local IP address instead of the WAN address.

Code: Select all
[Repeater]
Address=192.168.xxx.xxx:5901



I guess my concept of how the repeater works is a little cloudy.

The repeater is what connects ChunkViewer and InstantSupport together. Basically both will make a connection to the repeater with the same ID number and the repeater will allow communication between them. Think of it as a middle man.

Keep in mind that it is recommended to run the repeater in a stationary network location.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby B » 2010-04-30 22:57

Yes, they can ALL run on the same PC. (Viewer, Server, Repeater)

You are probably having firewall problems similar to mine. Look back a couple of months to when I talked about creating "LocalInstantSupport.exe" and "RemoteInstantSupport.exe" along with corresponding LocalViewer and RemoteViewer directories.

Re: My Feature Requests / Bug Reports

You need to decide whether to generate ChunkVNC with the public or private address of the repeater.

The "looping" is exactly what it's supposed to do when you "remote control" the machine you're already on -- just think about what you're asking the software to do -- display a copy of itself, displaying a copy of itself...etc.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby letsfly » 2010-04-30 23:08

supercoe wrote:I guess I'm confused as to how exactly you're "setting" the repeater to a different IP?
The repeater will use the IP address of the computer it is run on.

The repeater has a LAN IP, and the routers WAN/Public IP is forwarding its ports 5901 and 5500 to the repeaters LAN IP

I take it you've followed the installation guide and checked that your ports are forwarded to the repeater correctly?
http://walkernerds.com/chunkvnc/installationguide.html

I followed the guide and used portqry to test the open ports, from my LAN on the repeater pc I can not reach the ports via the public IP but I can reach the ports if I query the ports on the LAN IP, I can also reach the ports via the public IP using an outside port sniffer.

In your case it seems you don't have an extra computer to run the repeater on and you wish to run it on the same computer as the viewer.
This is fine unless your router doesn't support loopback connections.

I tried running the viewer from another LAN pc but the connection fails or I get a proxy error


I suggest you modify the \Viewer\bin\chunkviewer.ini file after compiling and put in your local IP address instead of the WAN address.

I tried this with the viewer on the same pc as the repeater and got the looping error even though it worked.

Code: Select all
[Repeater]
Address=192.168.xxx.xxx:5901


Does the viewer pc and the repeater pc have to both have public ip's?

I guess my concept of how the repeater works is a little cloudy.

The repeater is what connects ChunkViewer and InstantSupport together. Basically both will make a connection to the repeater with the same ID number and the repeater will allow communication between them. Think of it as a middle man.

Keep in mind that it is recommended to run the repeater in a stationary network location.
letsfly
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-04-30 22:16
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby supercoe » 2010-04-30 23:30

The repeater has a LAN IP, and the routers WAN/Public IP is forwarding its ports 5901 and 5500 to the repeaters LAN IP

Perfect


I followed the guide and used portqry to test the open ports, from my LAN on the repeater pc I can not reach the ports via the public IP but I can reach the ports if I query the ports on the LAN IP, I can also reach the ports via the public IP using an outside port sniffer.

So your port forward is working, but it appears your router doesn't support loopback. This means you'll have to put in the repeaters LAN IP into the chunkviewer.ini file as mentioned above.


I tried running the viewer from another LAN pc but the connection fails or I get a proxy error

But are you seeing the viewer ID connect in the repeaters log window?


I tried this with the viewer on the same pc as the repeater and got the looping error even though it worked.

As B stated this is expected behavior, you are Viewing the Viewer the Viewer the Viewer the Viewer....


Does the viewer pc and the repeater pc have to both have public ip's?

No, but you wan't to compile with your public IP. This way when you send someone the InstantSupport.exe file it knows where to phone home. In your case it connects to your routers WAN IP (public) and your router forwards that request to the repeater in your LAN.

The reason the viewer isn't connecting locally after compiling with your WAN IP is because it is trying to communicate with the WAN IP of your router and your router isn't allowing this to happen. If you modify the chunkviewer.ini and set the repeater address to it's LAN address this will tell the viewer to look for the repeater locally on your network. Keep in mind that if you were to use the viewer outside of your local network it will have to be set back to the WAN IP.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby Rat » 2010-05-14 15:10

I often use the Repeater and Viewer on the same machine... without any problems except for this one: Repeater Problem
Last edited by Rat on 2010-05-14 15:13, edited 1 time in total.
Rat
80
80
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 2004-11-01 02:11

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby B » 2010-05-14 15:21

That problem is huge for me, and in testing with supercoe, it doesn't seem to have anything to do with the repeater after all. It's a failing on the UltraVNC server, or so it would seem. After a period of a few hours after an initial successful session closes, the server just stops accepting connections via the repeater. Right now I think it may be that after a period of time it can no longer complete its repeater registration properly (and it no longer lists the repeater session as a "Pending Client), due to some kind of resource leak on its part.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby YY » 2010-05-15 02:01

B wrote:and in testing with supercoe, it doesn't seem to have anything to do with the repeater after all. It's a failing on the UltraVNC server, or so it would seem.
I'm not a programmer, and not able to check the code source to spot where this bug from. But in a series of tests, (see: the session hangs on 'Negotiate Protocol Version' ), I found the repeater bundled with the UltraVNC 1.0.2 package has no such problem, so I trend to believe this a bug of repeater (those after UVNC 1.0.2)

If possible, you may use the UVNC 1.0.2 repeater to replace the one now you are using, to see if your problem can be fixed.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: Can the repeater and viewer live on the same pc ?

Postby B » 2010-05-16 06:37

Thanks, YY. I certainly hope you're right! I will try this soon.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05


Return to ChunkVNC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron