Why doesn't winvnc.exe prompt vncviewer (listen mode)?

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

Why doesn't winvnc.exe prompt vncviewer (listen mode)?

Postby Guest » 2005-10-09 15:39

The SC version does prompt and I can choose to allow or deny. What about the standard version?
Guest
 

Postby bevtech » 2005-10-09 15:51

The standard version will prompt if you open or use the vncserver in listening mode..:) It will do this mostly once unless you change the server file to a newer version
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Postby Guest » 2005-10-09 16:10

I make sure my registry is cleaned of any ORLs keys and then enter listen mode in vncviewer
Then in the client's computer, I use winvnc -connect "viewer's IP"
Bam, the client's desktop jumps on the viewer's computer without a prompt.

When I do the same in SC, there is a prompt each time I try to connect.
Guest
 

Postby bevtech » 2005-10-09 16:15

Does it for me with SC everytime on my clients pc as well..:D

If you look at your windows firewall or any other firewall software for that matter you will see that SC creates a temparary folder each time you run it.
so the firewall software simply thinks it is another program.. Well that is the conclusion I draw from it anyway :P
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Postby Guest » 2005-10-09 17:03

What? I wasn't talking about XP's firewall.
I was talking about VNCViewer itself!

When a SC client calls my VNCViewer (which is in listen mode), VNCViewer gives me a prompt about someone wanting to reach me and I can choose "yes" or "no".
But when it's the standard client, VNCViewer just assumes I want the connection and starts controlling the standard client.
Guest
 

Postby redge » 2005-10-09 17:25

classic vnc server (not SingleClick), reverse connection
vnc server ---> vnc viewer listening

not exist on classic full winvnc for compatiblity between multi-OS
only SingleClick allow viewer accept or refuse on windows OS
but possible work with Linux with Wine and UltraVNC viewer
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby bevtech » 2005-10-10 00:12

Sorry about that. I thought you were referring to the firewall allow or deny issue.. :(

I use a repeater to control my connections. I dont have to accept incoming connections until I activate a link to my repeater. You may have discovered a slight bug other then that I am not sure..:)
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Postby pgmoney » 2005-10-30 01:30

redge wrote:classic vnc server (not SingleClick), reverse connection
vnc server ---> vnc viewer listening

not exist on classic full winvnc for compatiblity between multi-OS
only SingleClick allow viewer accept or refuse on windows OS
but possible work with Linux with Wine and UltraVNC viewer


Here is a beta viewer that will display the IP address of the incoming connection and ask if you want to accept it or not. It should retain compatibility across platforms, it works with the classic full winvnc, it does not need to be a SC connection but it may be a bit too talkative on a busy port... but you can toggle off listen mode if it is. (also added a notification beep)

http://www.advantig.com/files/vncviewer101a6.zip

Standard disclaimer: It's a work in progress, use at your own risk etc...

Did I mention it's a beta work in progress? (meaning I need feedback if it's to be finished)
Last edited by pgmoney on 2005-10-30 01:36, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
pgmoney
100
100
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2004-06-26 22:29

Postby redge » 2005-10-30 03:10

pgmoney,

work great, appreciate your nice work :-)

Possible to add the username to the ip address service you have added ?

Why ?
When you have a lot of users, you don't know all adress but username is easy to remember who is it ;-) logged
A must have +ip the actual address
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx / username

feature username broken compatibility ?
anyway if not possible, I could tell you great work with the backward compatibility cross plateform with RFB protocol !

I think many users from Mac/*nix would appreciate it.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby pgmoney » 2005-10-30 03:59

redge wrote:pgmoney,

work great, appreciate your nice work :-)

Possible to add the username to the ip address service you have added ?



Prompt with username + private IP + public IP + Repeater ID code is already done. It's still cross-platform compatible but it's in alpha-testing and has not been tested enough to release even as beta yet.
Last edited by pgmoney on 2005-10-30 04:01, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
pgmoney
100
100
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2004-06-26 22:29

Postby bevtech » 2005-10-30 15:51

pgmoney,

I use your beta works great:) Doesn't seem to support multiple MSRC4 connections at one time but that is fine with me.

Did notice one issue I click the little box next to the Ip address with encryption 1.1.9.8 and that baby crashed big time. Killed my connection. Went to server to kill the vncserver and restarted it. Went to reconnect and the Server Blue screened with IRQ equal or less then zero and restarted the windows xp pro winvnc server pc. I could have been something I did but I thought it was worth mentioning..:)
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Postby redge » 2005-12-26 20:50

pgmoney wrote:Prompt with username + private IP + public IP + Repeater ID code is already done. It's still cross-platform compatible but it's in alpha-testing and has not been tested enough to release even as beta yet.

good news after 2 months, beta available ? :-)
Last edited by redge on 2005-12-26 20:52, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby pgmoney » 2005-12-26 21:42

redge wrote:
pgmoney wrote:Prompt with username + private IP + public IP + Repeater ID code is already done. It's still cross-platform compatible but it's in alpha-testing and has not been tested enough to release even as beta yet.

good news after 2 months, beta available ? :-)


Hi Redge,

Havn't really done much with it. I kind of got side-tracked on the voip code for an ssl viewer/server appliance. I'll try to take a look at it again as soon as I can.
Last edited by pgmoney on 2005-12-26 21:43, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
pgmoney
100
100
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2004-06-26 22:29

Postby redge » 2005-12-26 23:04

pgmoney wrote:Havn't really done much with it. I kind of got side-tracked on the voip code for an ssl viewer/server appliance. I'll try to take a look at it again as soon as I can.

no stress, take your time, just come for some news... now, I had news ;-)
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby redge » 2006-04-01 21:13

pgmoney wrote:Prompt with username + private IP + public IP + Repeater ID code is already done. It's still cross-platform compatible but it's in alpha-testing and has not been tested enough to release even as beta yet.

bump it again ;-)
any news after 3 months passed ?
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby redge » 2006-04-01 21:34

I think you can add option for some techncian don't want viewer prompt before incoming connection up.
vncviewer -noask feature for SC and classic winvnc or another word disable prompt but directly connect.
Last edited by redge on 2006-04-01 23:11, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby buch85 » 2006-04-02 10:38

hi everybody,
I have the opposite problem...
my SC doesn't prompt anything but directly connect....(I have compiled myself the SC from the source code).

I took a look at the code and i found that the prompt is displayed in the vncviewer (listen mode) only if the rfbProtocolMessage is == RFB 003.014 or == 003.016.

In the source code i have (REL 1.0.0 2005-06-24 13:54) i wasn't able to find anything about RFB 003.014 or RFB 003.016 but only RFB 003.004 and RFB 003.006.

If you are interested and if you know the way to start a connection using RFB 003.006 instead RFB 003.016 the listener will not prompt anything but just begin the support session.

PS: If someone tell me how to start the connection using RFB 003.016 or RFB 003.014 (it's nearly the same, i think 0:-) ) i will be eternally grateful.

I NEED THE PROMT OF INCOMING CONNECTION
buch85
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006-03-07 13:42

Accept or deny Incoming connection

Postby franklinsa » 2006-04-13 03:18

there is a way for the user choose to accept or deny the Incoming connections as in RealVNC??

sorry about my english!

Moderated by redge at 2006-04-13 17:31:
merged topic \"Accept or deny Incoming connection\" to \"Why doesn't winvnc.exe prompt vncviewer (listen mode)?\"
Last edited by franklinsa on 2006-04-13 17:31, edited 1 time in total.
franklinsa
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-04-13 03:07

Postby pgmoney » 2006-05-16 07:04

redge wrote:
pgmoney wrote:Prompt with username + private IP + public IP + Repeater ID code is already done. It's still cross-platform compatible but it's in alpha-testing and has not been tested enough to release even as beta yet.

bump it again ;-)
any news after 3 months passed ?


Hi Reg,

I gave up trying to keep up with all the source code updates to the viewer which is now tabbed and using a different compiler I think. Then CVS quit working and I didn't want to waste time adding mods that couldn't be used in the next viewer. I guess you can consider it on permanent hold for now.
User avatar
pgmoney
100
100
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2004-06-26 22:29


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron