Why does TOUCH not work like MOUSE events for disable?

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

Why does TOUCH not work like MOUSE events for disable?

Postby JonathanS » 2021-04-14 04:57

The goal is to disable user INPUT on the SERVER SIDE when someone has connected remotely ...
- works great to disable keyboard/mouse
- works great to disable the screen (goes blank)
But for some strange reason if the screen is a TOUCH SCREEN enabled device (which most of our kiosks are) even if the INPUT is disabled and SCREEN is blank if the user PRESSES their input is still active and causes problems when we have remotely connected.

Is this a DEFECT in UltraVNC? Is there a separate option for TOUCH? Do I need to configure my TOUCH differently?

Any help, feedback, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
JonathanS
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2021-04-05 13:26

Re: Why does TOUCH not work like MOUSE events for disable?

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2021-04-14 10:41

Isn't this fixed in the 1.3.3 dev builds. ( Mar 25, 2021)
This code part is in de vnchook.dll, you can use the vnchook.dll from the latest dev build and test it with any release.

Touch generate injected mouse command, but vnc also inject mouse commands.
Some extra filter was added to block also non vnc injected mouse command.
Not tested, i don't have touch screen
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6289
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Why does TOUCH not work like MOUSE events for disable?

Postby JonathanS » 2021-04-14 18:31

This is fantastic news - we are for sure using a much older version (and mixed) - does this fix require us to upgrade both the CLIENT and SERVER or could we simply upgrade one of them to the latest (1.3.3)? Obviously best to upgrade both to be consistent (know that) but we added custom-code to the solution over the past decades so trying to reduce the risks.
JonathanS
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2021-04-05 13:26

Re: Why does TOUCH not work like MOUSE events for disable?

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2021-04-14 20:25

only vnchook.dll, this part is responsible for blocking local input.
It's compatible with the older version of vnc. make sure to copy the correct 32/64 version
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6289
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 11 guests