1.3.3 dev 10

1.3.3 dev 10

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2021-05-16 20:33

downloads
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/133/UltraV ... _Setup.exe
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/133/UltraV ... _Setup.exe
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/133/UltraVnc_133_dev10.zip

1.3.3 dev 10
*Maxviewers
*multimouse option
*zlib fix
*winpe fix
*Possible crash fix ( minidump analyse)
*Zstd 1.5.0
*cleanup old code
*rdpmode fix
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby mbb » 2021-05-27 22:23

I'm testing UVNC 1.3.3 dev10 on WinPE x64 10.0.19041.1 (the most current PE release). As others have posted, only GUI apps can be seen remotely, not the all-important command terminal itself. Additionally, when multiple apps are open, an app that is not in the forefront can be seen but not accessed. The same failure to display CMD windows also occurs with TightVNC and has been posted in their forum. The problem does not appear to be on the VNC viewer side, since viewers from TightVNC, RealVNC, and TigerVNC I've tested also have the same issue. REG ADD HKCU\Console /v ForceV2 /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f (values 0 and 1) do not fix the issues. FYI, your test version of Alt+Tab (009) does not work on the viewer side. Spawning another CMD window in WinPE also does not show on the viewer side.

Having a fully functional VNC is critical to my operations, and because the new Microsoft driver model for ethernet and RAID drivers requires the newer PE versions, I cannot use older PE versions to solve the VNC problem. As others have noted, PE x64 builds through 10.0.17134.1 work correctly.

Are there specific settings I need to change in the Ultravnc.ini file? If so, please post the working settings or required configuration changes. Thanks.
mbb
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-27 21:07

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2021-05-28 17:32

Retested winpe v 10.0.19041.1
ultravnc.ini only has the passwords, no other settings
No REG ADD HKCU\Console change
winvnc 1.3.3 dev 10 64bit

How do i test
I manual do
wpeUtil disablefirewall
winvnc.exe
Then i make a viewer connection.
If "\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinPE" exist we consider the OS as Winpe.

The following does the same as winvnc shoudl do.
Detect winpe and make running cmd visable

https://www.uvnc.eu/download/133/winpeTest.zip

Image
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby mbb » 2021-06-01 16:32

Thanks for your information, Rudy!

I tested again with the manual steps you use:
* UltraVNC.ini includes only the passwords
* Confirm WinPE version is 10.0.19041.1 in HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\Currentversion\WinPE
* No REG ADD HKCU\Console change
* wpeutil disablefirewall
* winvnc

CMD windows does not show in viewer; however, when I additionally run your winpetest.exe, then the CMD window becomes visible. Winpetest.exe also fixes the same issue for TightVNC server, so tell me what changes are being made to WinPE to fix the issue?

Thanks again for your prompt attention.
mbb
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-27 21:07

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2021-06-01 18:16

Yes, this fix it for all vnc versions, it just disable some graphics setting for the cmd while still using V2 console.
It isn't a winPE change, winvnc monitor the cmd's and change that graphical setting for it.

I only don't understand why it does't work on your winpe when ultravnc run this code direct.

Are you sure you are not connecting to another version ?
Else just copy the dev10 version as winvnc2.exe, use taskmgr to kill winvnc and start winvnc2.
(I use FT to copy the new version with another name so i don't need to rebuild winpe each time.)

When winvnc detect port 5900 is used, it start winvnc on port 5901.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby mbb » 2021-06-02 20:17

Thanks for the feedback. I used your winpetest.exe to workaround the issue, and I'm very grateful for your help.
mbb
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-27 21:07

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby mj123 » 2021-06-09 15:49

Hi Rudi - thanks for your work on this. I was able to get cmd windows to display using the winpetest.exe, however it does not work for Powershell windows. Do you think Powershell can be added ?
mj123
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-05 23:08

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby mj123 » 2021-06-09 16:19

Actually running the winpetest.exe + setting this reg key allows me to view cmd and Powershell windows.
REG ADD HKCU\Console /v ForceV2 /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
mj123
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-05 23:08

Re: 1.3.3 dev 10

Postby Ronny » 2021-06-17 14:13

We are using 19041 WinPE as well and have had the before mentioned issues. I have implemented the 1.3.3 dev 10 version into our WinPE and have also implemented the HKCU\Console registry key.

Good things first, it works ok for us with just the both measures. As a side node maybe, one connection at a time behaves ok, if a second connection to the same host is established vnc is really slow and freezes. This can be healed by both sessions disconnecting and just one of them reconnecting. On our 1809 WinPE we have been establishing two or even more connections without any issue.

Furthermore there is still something not behaving as it should be. We load a PowerShell generated form on startup which allows us to define a computer name. It has 4 different pull down menus the name can be created from. The form itself is shown ok, however whenever a pull down menu is entered nothing is displayed of that pull down. When you know which area you have to click the right entry is selected, so the pull down is there but it is just not displaying. Is this also something that has to do with the overall 19041 issue or is this a more "finetuning" related topic.

Rudi, great work and thank you for being there for the community.
Ronny
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2021-06-17 14:03


Return to 1.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron